[The Farm] A Calling & A Summons

Mr. Blackbird Lore

[The Farm] A Calling & A Summons

Post by Mr. Blackbird Lore »

Three weeks before the Fall Festival

Though the injuries gained in Hawaii had long since faded, the events never left Jane Smith's mind. Every day she reflected. It had been a gross upset in their favor, true, but it had also nearly led to the deaths of dozens of children. Fuckin children. Her own mortality didn't even register by comparison.

Jane was never one to simply complain about a problem. She was a fixer- by trade and by nature. In the last two months, she had contemplated how to fix this issue very thoroughly. For the last three weeks, she had been planning and preparing. Now, as her preparations neared completion, she realized it wasn't like it used to be. She wasn't a lone wanderer anymore. She didn't have to do this the old way.

She heard the boots crunching up her gravel driveway and called out as they came near. "In here!" She looked up from her workbench in the barn to the door in time to see Ruarc Flynn come into view. "Thanks fer comin. I know ye had somethin ye wanted t talk bout. Turns out so do I."

The workbench was crowded with bullets, most fitted to cartridges, but perhaps two dozen still waited to be pressed. One heap of gunpowder and smaller, premeasured piles sat on the opposite of the reloader. The quantity is what initially caught the druid's eye; after the initial surprise, however, gleaming patterns stenciled into the bullets captured his attention.

As for Jane, she wasn't much different than usual. Her hair was tailed, her jeans were dark, her boots were worn, and her shirt was a powder blue denim. Sweat shone on her face and neck and stained her shirt. But there was that serious, determined look in her eyes that he'd seen before. She had dark thoughts, and was ready to do what she did best.
Straken

Re: A Calling & A Summons

Post by Straken »